Back From Sucking

This is an exact reenactment of how I look when I read.

I’m back after a couple of months hiatus. I would like to say something heroic, like I got my leg blown off while extreme reading in the deserts of Afghanistan, but mostly I was lazy and lost interest.

To fix this problem I’ve decided to change the format of my site a little, starting with a fresh new skin. Instead of posts only containing reviews, occasionally I will also write to you guys directly and ask you questions.

Most importantly, I will put the effort in and bring you more fabulously astounding book reviews (I can see the crowds cheering now). Expect to see many more reviews coming up. 

Just to update you, I am currently reading or half way through:

Gandhi: An Autobiography – Mahatma Gandhi
The Story of Art – E.H Gombrich
The Origin of Species – Charles Darwin
Thought Reform and the Psychology of Totalism – Robert Jay Lifton
Metamorphosis – Ovid
Dead Aid – Dambisa Moyo
The Bible – Assorted ancient people

I really do have to concentrate on finishing some of these books before I start new ones, which is a terrible habit.

Here are some of the books I have finished reading. Some of them I completed while traveling in Europe, some at home lately. I aim to put reviews up for many of them if I can remember my thoughts clearly.

Neither Here Nor There – Bill Bryson
Mothertongue – Bill Bryson
Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
Down Under – Bill Bryson
A Short History of Everything – Bill Bryson
The Lucky Country – Donald Horne
The Pidgeon – Patrick Suskind
Running With Scissors – Augusten Burroughs
Look Me In The Eye – John Elder Robison
The Road To Wigan Pier – George Orwell
Homage To Catalonia – George Orwell
Animal Farm – George Orwell
Jan’s Atomic Heart – Simon Roy
Kill Your Boyfriend – Grant Morrison and Philip Bond
Diary of a Young Girl – Anne Frank
A History of God – Karen Armstrong
War Is A Force That Gives Us Meaning – Chris Hedges
What Every Person Should Know About War – Chris Hedges
Home From The War – Robert Jay Lifton
The World According To Clarkson – Jeremy Clarkson

As you can see, another reason I haven’t been posting is because I’ve been reading too much! Also, I seem to be currently on a non-fiction bender, seeing as only four on that list are fiction (and a Bill Bryson bender). This also illustrates why my ‘To Read List’ never goes down – I’m very easily distracted by whatever book is readily available at the book store.

I haven’t really purchased many art books lately (due to my unemployment for a while there). The exception is Process Recess 3 by James Jean, which I received for my birthday, and Grafuck Book 4. I splurged on it due to pre-orders being signed by the artists (heck yes!). But I am finally employed now, so art book reviews will also be on the cards.

So anyway, I hope that tickles some fancies.

This entry was posted in Brief Notes and Other Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

